I’m a process learner…

April 7, 2010 at 8:24 pm | Posted in 2010, Knitting, Original Designs, Reclaimed Yarn | 2 Comments

…euphemism for “I make a lot of mistakes,” particularly with my knitting.

This weekend, I finally completed half of my secret knitting project. I’m very pleased, although it did take 3 or 4 goes of it because my math skills are atrocious and I suffer a glitch to the logical portion of my brain that would otherwise allow me to retain mathematical concepts past my nose. (I can’t imagine that it’s of any benefit to me or my knitting/designing that the mere mention of the word ‘math’ or ‘number crunching’ makes my ears hot and eyes go a little blurry. Ho-hum!). So, in the spirit of consistency, I cast on for the second portion. Twice. And then a third time… ; )

Besides the above mentioned, I haven’t cast-on anything new, although I do have quite a few items in my queue. These are among the top of my list:

February Lady by Pamela Wynne
Elizabeth Zimmerman’s Pi-Shawl from Knitter’s Almanac

Raspberry Cascade 200
Cakes upon cakes of Raspberry Cascade 200…
I have so much of this left over from a few months ago and I think it would look perfect knit up into the February Lady.

future pi-shawl
Heather Grey Lamb’s Wool.
2000 yards to go round-and-round. Enough said : )

Hopefully I’ll have some time soon to get one of these cast-on. Though, this
thing “time” has been a hot commodity lately. I’ve been trying my best to split it equally among knitting, designing, and now yarn reclaiming…but I feel rather unsuccessful. (Of course there’s also the dinner cooking, lunch packing, and a daily cat de-fur-ing of the house now that the warm weather is turning…but who’s counting??) Does any one else out there crave a handful-more hours in the day? I feel that if we tack just two more onto the evening…or more reasonably, if I could learn to sleep less (ha!) maybe I would have something more to show for it.

But then again, if my math is poor on typical sleep. *snicker*

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I definitely need more hours in the day too! I have actually spent quite some looking up online about whether it’s possible to successfully train yourself to go without sleep. Turns out…. not so much. And I wasted quite a bit of time finding that out – !

    Your knitting is looking lovely – and I think process knitting sounds like a very good way to cement things into one’s brain! That raspberry yarn is beautiful – what a perfect colour – and a grey pi shawl sounds great too.

    I am still quite intrigued by this secret knitting! 🙂

  2. […] been waiting for so long to share this pattern, and I am very pleased to announce that it has been published and made […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

