What’s cooking in casa emilyelizabeth!

March 23, 2010 at 8:29 pm | Posted in 2010, Knitting, Original Designs | 2 Comments

I’ve been pretty lazy about updating lately, partly because I’ve been engaging in more stash enhancement than knitting, and partly because my main project on the needles is an original pattern for one of my LYS’s and it is still in the conception stage, so there isn’t much to show. Furthermore, I’m not 100% on the etiquette with regard to what I can and cannot share prior to it’s release, so I won’t say too much besides it’s being knit in super soft cashmere (yum!). Here’s a teeny peek : ).

Peek!
I am still plugging away on the alpaca sox legwarmers, but they have definitely taken the back seat. I figure at this point they won’t be weather appropriate again for another 9 mos. anyway, so I’m in no rush.

So, about LYS’s. I’ve been living just outside Lowell for my entire lifeand only a stone’s throw for the last 3-years–and have never stepped foot into the Hub Mills until about 2-weeks ago. If there are any knitting nuns out there, I should be slapped on the wrists for such a transgression!

For any of you non-Greater Boston/Merrimack Valley residents, the Hub Mills is the factory store adjacent to the CEY Headquarters located in an old textile factory building located on the Merrimack River. The place is wonderful. While it’s not a large store, every crevice is carefully and lovingly stuffed with yarn treasures, books, and needles–and I’ve spent probably 4 or so hours over my last couple of visits discovering them all. Of course the staple yarn brand is their own label (CEY) but they carry some others as well, such as ShiBui, Madeline Tosh, and a wall full of specialty sock yarns that I’ve only ever read about.

Oh the possibilities!

My discovery has perfectly coincided with a recent climb out from my Cascade comfort zone, as well as having become overly enthusiastic about experiencing other yarns (the Manos, and now the Cashmere). It certainly explains the 3 trips to Hub Mills in one weeks time : ). As a matter of fact, I even purchased several hanks of Premiere, CEY’s cotton/tencel yarn in the most electric blue colorway. Typically I can’t stand cotton, but this yarn is like butter and I just couldn’t resist. I have plans to knit it into a fun spring kerchief–an idea I kept putting on the back burning for lack of a something breezy and non-wool, but luscious and non-synthetic.

CEY Premiere
So, even though I’ve been lax on posting, I’ve been quite busy. And very soon I should have some finished projects to share, just in time for spring! So be looking out : )

Knit on!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Ooh looking forward to seeing the new design! That is some beautiful looking yarn.

  2. […] been waiting for so long to share this pattern, and I am very pleased to announce that it has been published and made […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

