Sunfishes and the Big, Bad Yarn Monster

February 20, 2010 at 11:12 pm | Posted in 2010, Knitting, Original Designs, Project Yarnway | 1 Comment

Lately my appetite for knitting has been absolutely insatiable, though not at all commensurate with my actual productivity. I have various items on the needles, as well as in the queue, but in that last 2 weeks I’ve managed only to knit the same cowl cuff a total of 6 times, partly because I’m a stickler for even tension in my ribbing, but most likely because I don’t think I’ve ever been able to knit the first round of 1×1 ribbing for more than 20 stitches without making an error. (To remedy this, I’ve been placing stitch markers in 20 st intervals and removing them after my pattern becomes visible. Works like a charm!) Oh, and never mind the hooded cowl that I mentioned in my previous post that has since morphed into a behemoth capable of swallowing a knitter whole, and I only started it, pulled it out, and re-knit it 3 times. ::Ugh::

Adamaris 1

In all the actual knitting I have engaged in, I’m sure I could have knit myself a house by now, but all I truly have to show is a quick little knit; 3/4 of the way done, and just begging to be finished the next chance I get. It’s another cowl, yes, but it was a personal request by my mother and I never turn down a request. I have 2 gorgeous hanks of Manos Silk Blends in a colorway that reminds me of sunfishes, and I finally decided on the perfect stitch combination to highlight the beautiful variegation and luster of the yarn. I’m only a few inches shy of being done and am excited to share the finished garment! [As a side note, I’m entering this pattern as my first submission to Project Yarnway on Ravelry. If you aren’t participating yourself, help a fellow-designer out and vote for me!]

Adamaris 2

I had sketched out two design styles and had a hard time deciding between them. But after taking stash inventory and noticing a beautiful hank of golden alapaca, I think I’m just going to indulge myself and knit both. Then, no more cowls, I promise. Until next year at least ; ).

In regards to the hooded monstrosity, I made several swatches before starting, but my pitfall was forgetting the one teeny tiny truth about brioche fabric: the stitches stretch upwards to 2-times their actual size. So what began as a lofty cowl wound up weighing a whopping 3/4 lbs at the half way point AND was able to wrap itself twice around my waist. My only regret was knitting 3 hanks in before realizing this “minor” detail. As I type this I realize just how silly that sounds; 3 hanks…and how did I not realize it would be that huge? I blame it on being blinded by my love for the stitch pattern, which I will be revisiting soon, but in another form entirely : ).

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] upon cakes of Raspberry Cascade 200… I have so much of this left over from a few months ago and I think it would look perfect knit up into the February […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

