Ava

January 21, 2010 at 12:00 pm | Posted in 2010, Finished, Knitting, Original Designs | 2 Comments

In addition to being a perfect creative outlet, knitting is also the perfect way to keep warm…very warm! And because I spend the better half of my day behind a monitor in a brisk little cube where all too often my fingers have turned to ice before noon-time, I decided to whip myself up something nice and warm for the office. I picked up 4 hanks of alpaca from my LYS that were just screaming at me (check out that green!) and went to town on a very simple but quirky shawl that I’m hoping will quell the cold on some of the more particularly chilly winter days we’ve been having lately.

Finished Size after blocking | 48 in. / 122 cm in width, 36 in. / 92 cm in length

Materials | Approx. 750 yards of worsted weight yarn. Shown in Berocco Ultra Alpaca, 3.5 hanks—6273 Irwyn Green Mix. US 5 / 3.75mm circular needle, or size to obtain gauge. Minimum cord length of 32 in. / 80 cm. Longer recommended for edging.

Gauge | 20 sts & 26 rows = 4 in / 10 cm in stockinette stitch

This shawl was inspired by wild Canada Geese who fly southbound in their famous, perfect V-formation in the late fall. It’s knit from the neck down in an alternating garter and stockinette pattern that’s edged with a delicate ruffle—the best feature being that it’s completely reversible!

I used a 24” circular for more than half of the shawl, switching to a 32” only as I neared the end. Because the stitch count doubled as the edging was knit, I found myself having a difficult time maneuvering all the stitches on a 32” needle. If you have needle longer than 32”, I recommend using it. However, it’s really only tight for 5 or so rows, so there’s no need to go out and purchase a new needle just for this project.

As a side note, the Berocco alpaca is a tad sheddy, so substitute for a wool or mix as preferred.

This pattern is available for $3 USD through Ravelry using paypal, no accounts required. It is immediately delivered as a 2-page full-color PDF download with photos.

ava preview

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Oh that is so beautiful. Disaster. I have discovered your blog just as I am supposed to be going to bed early in preparation for another day of solid revising tomorrow. Ho hum, I will have to bookmark it. Excellent! More distractions for the morrow.

  2. […] A swap parcel from Emily, a blog friend – who designs lovely things too – look look look – who had the ingenious idea of a swap some months ago as we were emailing. A few weeks ago […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

