Thanksgiving Wishes

November 29, 2009 at 12:00 pm | Posted in 2009, Finished, Knitting | Leave a comment

I hope you and your families celebrated a wonderful holiday! Mine certainly did…with a whole lot of turkey and 10-pounds of mashed potatoes. Note to self, when mum says “a little more than 5-pounds”, she doesn’t mean double! This year I was lucky enough to have the entire week-end off (including Black Friday…which I spent happily snuggled in bed) and was able to get some quality knitting time in.

For now, here’s a little baby knitting. These little cuties were made a bit over a month ago in anticipation of my sister visiting with her twin boys. I’ve been a bit delayed in writing a post about them.

Saartjes Booties

Saartje’s Bootees by Saartje de Bruijn

Yarn | Debbie Bliss Baby Cashmerino, 3 skeins: 203, 027, 202
Needle | US 3 / 3.25 mm

The construction of the booties is really interesting. They are knit flat and then turn in on themselves, and with a little seam here and seam there, voila! They pop into shape and look absolutely adorable. I’ll admit that they are a little fiddly when it comes to seaming and casting-on new stitches for the strap, but with such a quick little knit, how can you go wrong?

My only gripe was that, even with the correct gauge, these were FAR too large for the boys. I had to quickly knit up another pair with smaller needles (us 1) and substituted the 1 strap and button with 2 longer I-cord straps that tied together. It was a very sweet alternative, and they fit perfectly. Unfortunately I didn’t get a photo-op, so you’ll be left to use your imagination on this one…unless I get motivated enough to make another pair.

And here’s a little taste of something new I’ve been working on…

Brahm

More to come later : )

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

