Fresh off the needles!

October 27, 2009 at 12:00 pm | Posted in 2009, Finished, Knitting | Leave a comment

When witches go riding, and black cats are seen, the moon laughs and whispers, ‘tis near Halloween! anonymous

Now that the fall is most definitely in our midst, my needles have swiftly been-a-clackin’!

Waffle Scarf

Waffle Scarf
Yarn | Berocco Vintage Wool in Cracked Pepper
Needles | US 5 circulars

It dawned on me that after almost 3-years, I had yet to knit Shaun up a proper fall scarf. I browsed through Ravelry and found several choices and had him choose (with only a slight bit of suggestion on my part!) a quick-to-knit, yet interesting pattern. We opted for the Malabrigo Waffle pattern, which is actually just a basic waffle stitch, a.k.a., the double seed or “box” stitch. Despite it’s simplicity, the stitch pattern truly showcases the yarn–too bad I had just invested my pennies in a few hanks of the new Berocco Vintage wool! Regardless, the scarf came out wonderfully, that is after a bit of steam blocking and a few frogs due to some mischievous cats ; )

If I ever chose to re-knit this, I’d opt for a 100% wool so that the curling could be abated with a good submerged block.

Lichen Cowl

Lichen Cowl by Lolly
Yarn | Nashua Yarn (Magenta/Pink)
Needles | US 5 circulars

While working on my graduate classes, I went on a complete knitting sabatical during which I experienced several ‘minimalism’ frenzies where I chucked a good portion of my stash. Some of the finer quality skeins remained, two of which were a ballerina pink and magenta from Nashua Yarns. The tags were misplaced a while back so I’m not sure about the exact specs, but they’re on the lighter side of worsted and knit up beautifully. It’s unbelievable to me that I’ve had these sitting around for going on 3-years now, and I’ve only just found the right pattern, and to boot, I still have about half a skein left of each!

This pattern combines 3 of my favorite qualities in a knitted garment: bright colors, stripes, and knitting completely in the round. 4th on the list would have been the minimal weaving in of those pesky little ends, but it wasn’t until just now that I realized I could have just as easily carried my yarns. A notion I will most definitely apply in future pursuits! I suppose I might as well knit this up again, seeing as how I do have so much in the way of leftovers : )…[early] Christmas knitting, anyone?

Happy Knitting!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

