knitting & things

February 6, 2011 at 6:52 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

It’s been a while, friends!

I sincerely apologize for my lack of posting…and I assure you all that I have been clicking away in my absence, but some other things have come up in my life that have taken first string to maintaining my knitting blog. Before I get into that, I want to mention that in the beginning (somewhere in 2005), knitting and maintaining this blog was always something that put a smile on my face….it was something that I always looked forward to to release my stress and allow my outpouring of creative energy to actually be channeled into something constructive. It has seen many many iterations and may knitting projects and many knitting eras, everything from the Karalund craze and the Swallowtail Shawl obsession….strait through to the explosion of Brooklyn Tweed and and the unveiling of Shelter…From Eunny taking over Interweave….and then the introduction of Quince and it’s unbelievably amazing yarn line.

Then in 2010, I turned to pattern designing…and at first it was wonderful. I loved shopping for my materials and sketching out designs and swatching. But…I quickly burned myself out…tangling myself in all sorts of math that just didn’t make any sense to me as well as copyright issues and having a hard time actually parting with my work when it was all done. Additionally, what many new designers may not realize is that pattern support is absolutely crucial. I lost count of how many emails I’ve received regarding questions to my patterns that sometimes I can answer, and unfortunately, some that I can’t.

Anyway, getting to the point is that about 8 months ago when I wanted to really make my patterns pop with incredible photos, I bought myself a camera. In addition to arranging all my yarn and projects to photography them,  I began taking pictures of anything that would sit still a minute…and I’d be lying if I said I’ve put that thing down since I bought it. It changed my life.

I have since established a little business for myself, and if all goes well this year I will be working along-side 3 amazing wedding photographers to build a portfolio. I have dreams of going professional eventually…but I need to keep reminding myself that it’s all baby steps until then : ) Visit eemithphotography to see more of my work, or check out project 365 for the photo-a-day project I began in January.

Knitting is an enormous part of my life, and really, it was what first inspired me to expand upon my photography and for that I am eternally grateful. Currently, I have 4 projects on the needles, and they will most definitely find their place in my 365, so keep checking in. I may not post to this blog nearly as often any more, if at all, but I’ll be around so don’t be a stranger. You can also still find me on Ravelry as EmilyElizabeth.

I extend a huge thank you to all the knitters, readers and commenters out there that have stopped on by over the past 6 years. It’s been awesome, but it’s time for something new : )

xoxo Emily

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You seem to be someone who takes things at heart! And you are talented, so good luck with photography! I’m sure that you will be very successful! Be assured that you will stay in my blogroll and I’ll be glad to read you whenever that is, even if it’s just twice a year or so. I also wanted to say that yesterday I started knitting your Douglas Mittens and I really enjoy it so far! They are for a dear friend! Cheers!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

