Back to work!

November 10, 2010 at 6:31 pm | Posted in 2010, Finished, Original Designs | 3 Comments

So it’s official.  I am a Mrs., or, Ms., as I much prefer : ) And for as lovely as it all was, I am quite content to shake off the crumbs and pack away the shoes and wait for the pictures…but all the while get myself back into the normal routine of life. I was a bit harried in those last few months, but now I feel light and new and can’t wait to celebrate our first holiday as newlyweds. So, now with the hub-bub behind me and our all too short honeymoon over (and lets not forget the 3 full work days already under my belt!)…I am ready to re-assume my blog reading and writing responsibilities once again. As it is, my RSS feed was at nearly 200 for knitting posts alone, so I’m making my rounds slowly as I catch up.

In the past month, a whole mess of knitterly things occurred at eeknits. Some things new, some things in the making, and some things revisited. So, let’s start off slow and let me introduce to you something that I’ve been holding out on : )

A few days before the wedding, I got a confirmation email that I had been waiting on with bated breath for weeks and weeks: These lovelies had finally been published!

These are my beloved Candy Corn Lined Mittens, published and available by instant PDF through The Yarn and Fiber Company. Maybe you remember my blubbering on about not wanting to give these away… : )

By the time they were published, it was a smidgeon too late to knit a pair for Halloween 2010, but there is ample time to knit a pair (or 6) for next year! They were very well received by both the staff at Y&F as well as the Ravelry community and I want to thank everyone for their kind words and support.

There mittens feature a geometric, yet whimsical pattern of candy corns in a traditional Halloween color palate using Ivy Brambles 2-ply Shetland wool…however I would LOVE love LOVE to see them worked up on a teal background. They are knit in the round on either DPNs, a pair of circulars, or magic loop as I like to use, however I would recommend DPNs to turn the cuff as it can get a bit fiddly with two circulars (instructions for the cuff turn are included in the directions). I designed these mittens with a gore thumb for a more natural fit but chose not to carry the color-work across….gives it an extra punch, don’t you think?… and then I finished them with a smooth tapered top. And for all of Shetland’s amazing color options, sturdiness, and crisp definition, it isn’t known for it’s luxurious softness so I lined ‘em with some Misti Alpaca Lace for good measure : ) (The Y&F version substitutes it with it’s Ivy Brambles 2-Ply Cashmere…yum!)

So, I’ve said it before but I am determined to find the time in the upcoming year to knit a second pair of these because I simply cannot imagine another Halloween season without my own set…but I’m a little mittened out at the moment.

Next up: Twin Budgies (in person!)

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Congratulations!

    And wow, those mittens are amazing!

  2. Yay! Yay for both wonderful things!

  3. CONGRATULATIONS!!! So happy for you and Mr EE!
    Those mittens are absolutely gorgeous – wonderful work and so exciting to have them published and sold by such an amazing store!
    Hope you’re settling back into your new ‘real life’. Fun to still have the photos to look forward to!


Leave a Reply

Get a free blog at WordPress.com | Theme: Pool by Borja Fernandez.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

