I tried!

October 17, 2010 at 4:13 pm | Posted in Knitting, Original Designs, Uncategorized | 6 Comments

Ugh. Three weeks ago I think I mentioned something about wanting to have a set (or 2) of mittens finished to go in, uh….2 weeks. I will learn not to make any more promises, at least not until after October 31st (the big day for any one who’s counting!)

I’m quickly approaching the point of just saying that I won’t even enter a 10-foot radius of anything yarn related over the next 2 weeks…but a knitter knows not to make that promise, either : ).

However, truth be told, I think this will be the last post you see from me for 3 to 4 weeks, until the craziness dies down. That probably means I will have to wait until November to get the two mitten patterns moved, but that still leaves plenty of time to knit a pair or 2 before the big chill sets in.  In the mean time, head over to Elli’s blog and check out her Sprig Mitts for another dose of leafy fall goodness. The foliage muses are working over-time this season….and aren’t her colors luscious?!

Before I sign off for a stretch, I want to mention a few exciting things in the knitting sphere that have really gotten my creative juices flowing:

     

  1. I received my copy of Mandy’s Red Collection last week! I am so completely inspired by Mandy’s ambition and upstart attitude (not to mention her crisp and classy design sense) and I absolutely can’t wait to cast on for a Ziggity Hat. What’s even more exciting is that I snagged this copy gratis for being lucky buyer #100. Go me! Even more so, go Mandy for being so successful!
  2. While I’m missing out on the fun of Rhinebeck and Stitches East this fall, the inaugural Fiber Festival of New England in West Springfield is coming up on the first weekend of November….and I wonder if the new hubby will agree to a romp out west during our tour-de-New England honeymoon.
  3. Last but most definitely not least is Jared’s new yarn line, Shelter. I’m really at a loss for words here. Lately it feels like I’m stuck in a continuous loop of no sooner being over the yarn crush of his latest design publication when he throws another curveball into the mix. But just look at how soft and down-right gorgeous this yarn is. It blows my mind, but then again, would anyone expect anything different from him? Of course, I already have two pairs of mittens and a hat pattern in mind for this yarn, but, I HAVE to finish what’s on my plate first. Sigh

Oh, almost forgot! Who’s the lucky duck who’s going to Harrisville for the Discover the Possibilities retreat in November? Oh yeah. I’ll refrain from gushing with excitement : )

See you all in a little bit…wish me luck!

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Congrats on the impending nuptials! I have no idea how you even have time to be blogging now, so you totally have a pass from me on the knitting multiple pairs of mittens thing :)

  2. darnit. I forgot about that smiley thing…

    • Haha. I always forget about the smiley thing, too. *resist the smiley…resist the smiley**

  3. So glad you like the book! Your comments have made my day. Thank you.

    I assume the big day is wedding day?!?! You’re forgiven for a lack of posting leading up to and following that significant event. If we don’t hear from you before then, hope you have a wonderful day!

  4. Ooh! They are lovely. I love them. Lovelovelove. Etc.

    Have a wonderful magical time at this most important of upcoming events, anyway. And, as well as the knitting retreat, hope the wedding goes well. Ah, I crack myself up…

    Glad you are in the midst of such happy days at the moment!

  5. Oh wow that’s so cool about the retreat! Have fun!!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

