Year One

September 14, 2010 at 7:23 pm | Posted in 2010, Knitting, stranding, Uncategorized, Yarn | 4 Comments

In the hub-bub of last minute gift knitting, planning a 50th surprise party, typing up the loose ends of a long over-due knit pattern and organizing the last leg of a wedding (did I mention I was getting married?) the one year blogoversary of my second go at it came and went without as much as a tip of the hat!

So, here’s to one year full of knitting, designing, and dreaming. I look forward to many more : )

And now that several of the major projects in my life have been tackled, I get to share a little of what’s been going on behind the scenes. Here is a little sneak peek of a pattern of mine that was just [reluctantly] dropped off at my LYS.

Lately, I’ve developed this horrible separation anxiety with the products of my knitting, which I can foresee being a hindrance in the designing process. Like a momma bird anxiously sending her babies out into the world I sit…chewing my nails down knowing that my precious knitted item is floating around somewhere being folded by whomever. Yeah, I’m a bit melodramatic, but I really liked those mittens : (. I’ll just keep reminding myself that I can always knit another pair.

I’ll post about it officially when they are all set and published, so stay tuned!

Oooh…and look at what I found in the mail box the other day. It’s quite enough to make one just squeal with delight…and you know I did : ).

And now I’ve got all those glorious colors  dancing around in my head…and I see many many mittens in my future, and maybe the future of some of my relatives, haha. I’m still swatching away with the Osprey that I bought a bit ago, and haven’t committed to anything quite yet. It’s so soft and squishy that I’m tempted to just knit a basic infinity cowl in stockinette. Sometimes a yarn is just beautiful in it’s own right and doesn’t need to be fussy. We’ll see. For now, go over and check out Mandy at the Zig Zag Stitch. I am in love with her self-published set of patterns in The Red Collection. I share her obsession with gratuitous bobbles and really want this hat. Don’t those bobbles look juicy enough to eat?!

So what stitches tickle your fancy?

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m the same way with letting go of finished pieces! I started writing in to my contracts to receive the finished item back once all photos/promotion was done. Most have done so no problem.

  2. married?!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! hey ms ee! that’s fabulous!! wishing you all the best when that happens. and you’ve really only been blogging a year? i feel like i’ve “known” you much,much longer.

    (you’ve got me super curious about quince&co)

  3. Ooh, beautiful mittens! I think any mother would be sad to pack those babies off in the mail. Lovely to catch up with your blog after a couple of months offline! And big congrats on your upcoming wedding- will there be wedding knitting?!

  4. [...] published and available by instant PDF through The Yarn and Fiber Company. Maybe you remember my blubbering on about not wanting to give these away… : [...]


Leave a Reply

Get a free blog at WordPress.com | Theme: Pool by Borja Fernandez.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

