BUDGIES: The First of Fall knitting : )

August 17, 2010 at 6:40 pm | Posted in 2010, baby knits, Finished, Knitting, Sweaters | 3 Comments

Budgie Striped Baby Sweater by Grumperina

Yarn | Cascade 220 Superwash in Blue (810) & Orange (5323)
Yarn |
Cascade 220 Superwash in Green (2424) & Orange (7619)
Needles
| US 3 24″

As I scrambled to finish these in a timely manner, I misread the labeling on the zipper packages and realized too little too late that the PERFECTLY color-coordinated zippers I purchased were designed for pull-overs…and didn’t separate.

Crum.

Just goes to show that I should always side with my gut…and in this case it was telling me to use buttons and not zippers. And if having to exchange them for separating zippers that are not even remotely close to the color of the sweater wasn’t proof enough of my gut’s amazing ability to predict epic knitting disasters, my sewing skills (i.e., patience for sewing) sealed the deal. The lack of hem detail shots above is not a coincidence ; ).

But non-the-less, how adorable are these! I couldn’t be any more happy with the pattern construction or the color palate. And my favorite is the completely fortuitous i-cord edging that does an amazing job to hide the un-matching zipper fabric, almost as if it wasn’t there at all! I only hope that my sister loves them as much as I do and that the Boys get a good use out of them. I plan to see them in October, so perhaps a set of modeled photos will pop up around then!

I’m still plugging away on my Redhook, slowly but surely, and have left off at the back short-row shaping. On the needles now is a stranded mitten pattern for my LYS that I’ve been miserably delayed in completing.  I knit up the first prototype over 3 months ago but wasn’t quite in love with it…and then 3 months turned into 4 and I was left sitting on this pile of Shetland, not knowing what to do with it. However, after one day of “almost” fall weather, my inspiration peaked it’s sneaky little head and now these mittens are all I can think about. So, time willing, they should be done very soon. But, sorry, no pics till they’re published.

And speaking of fall, I’m crazy over the moon that it’s just around the corner. I’ve been preoccupied with striped scarves and see many in my future. What fall knit-accessory can you not live without?

Happy knitting : )

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. These are so perfectly cute! I love your colors!

  2. Wow the budgies are just adorable, and the color combinations you used I absolutely loved. I am sure they will look pretty cute on the recipients too!

  3. They are amazing and I love the cardigan with the zippers, but oh you poor girl – what a horrible mistake! I can’t wait to see them modeled!


Leave a Reply

Get a free blog at WordPress.com | Theme: Pool by Borja Fernandez.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

