Quince!

July 24, 2010 at 9:42 am | Posted in 2010, Knitting, Yarn | 2 Comments

Because of mail restrictions at my apartment, I have packages sent to my parent’s home address so I don’t run the risk of sticky fingers wandering away with my yarn. Really, I’m not too sure that the general public (at least in my building, anyhow) would give a hoot about a bag of plump, downright swoonable yarn, but you never know. With these things, I don’t take chances : )

So, I had to wait 5 whole days before picking up my little package. 4 days to build the anticipation to just overflowing, and then an extra day to completely forget so that when my mom tossed the bag at me, I nearly jumped out of my seat with excitement. Actually, I think I did ; ).

The presentation alone  gave me the urge to just lovingly tuck this away on to a shelf and put it on display, but then I squeezed it. For 100% untreated wool, Osprey is remarkably soft. I’ve read in review that some liken it to Cascade 200. I would beg to differ and feel that it’s more along the lines of the softness you’d achieve with an alapaca or cashmere blend.

So, now the ideas are flying. And even thought I swore I wouldn’t knit another, I’m pretty sure I just heard it begging to be knit into a  gorgeous, drapey cowl : )

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Ooh, I’ve read so many good things about this yarn – and wow, your photos are BEAUTIFUL! You are an excellent advert for your new camera. And for the yarn too of course – that colour is beautiful. I can’t wait to see what it becomes!

  2. [...] my future, and maybe the future of some of my relatives, haha. I’m still swatching away with the Osprey that I bought a bit ago, and haven’t committed to anything quite yet. It’s so soft and squishy [...]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

